3737 Seminary Road Alexandria, VA 22304
Bishop Carolyn Tanner Irish and Mr. David Pitts Honored
with Dean's Cross Award

The Virginia Theological Seminary awarded the Dean’ s Cross for Servant Leadership in Church and Society to Bishop Carolyn Tanner Irish and Mr. David Pitts during a special service of Advent Lessons and Carols.

Established in November 2008, the Dean’s Cross award recognizes outstanding leaders who embody their baptismal vows to “strive for justice and peace among all people and respect the dignity of every human being.” Selected annually by the Seminary Dean in consultation with the Chair of the Board, the Honorees receive a handmade silver cross, modeled after the Seminary Chapel cross.

“Virginia Seminary does not simply worry about what our students know, but also about who they are,” said the Very Rev. Ian S. Markham, dean and president of Virginia Theological Seminary. “The Dean's Cross is our way of lifting up models of the well-formed life.”

Bishop Irish (VTS ’83) is the 10th Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Utah. At the time of her election and consecration in 1996 she became the fourth woman in the Episcopal Church to hold the office of bishop.

Mr. David Pitts has been a lay Episcopalian who has offered his expertise and time to the Episcopal Church – in particular his many years of service on the Board of the Church Pension Fund.

The Dean’s Cross was first awarded February 15, 2009, to Mrs. Octavia “Tay” Wood Cooper, a lifelong servant leader in church and society, and to the Rev. Canon Harold T. Lewis, Ph.D., D.D., D.C.L, rector of Calvary Episcopal Church in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.