This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.
Dean's Office

Honorary Degree Recipients

Virginia Theological Seminary awards honorary Doctor of Divinity and Doctor of Humane Letters degrees in recognition of faithful and notable service and creative and innovative leadership, especially by its own graduates, in parish ministry, in overseas missions, academia, and in ecumenical, social, diocesan, and national church interests, both clerical and lay. Nominees may be in mid-career, approaching retirement, or retired. Honorary Degrees are awarded annually at Commencement and Academic Convocation.
Nominations and supporting material should be addressed to: 

Chair of the Honorary Degrees Sub-Committee
c/o Ms. Sadaf Lee
Virginia Theological Seminary
3737 Seminary Road
Alexandria, VA 22304

Supporting materials are due no later than July 15 of each year. For 2019, the nomination deadline has been extended to August 15.

Click here for the list of Spring 2019 honorees.

Click here for a list of Fall 2018 honorees.

Honorary Degree Recipients

3737 Seminary Road, Alexandria, Virginia 22304  |  Phone: 703-370-6600 or 800-941-0083 | Employee Directory