VTS Board of Trustees Appoints Lisa Kimball, Ph.D. to a New Chair and a New Term

Media Contact: Curtis Prather 
Tel: (703) 461-1782 
Email: cprather@vts.edu

ALEXANDRIA, Va – Upon the vote and recommendation of the faculty, the Virginia Theological Seminary (VTS) Board of Trustees unanimously appointed Lisa Kimball, Ph.D., the Associate Dean of Lifelong Learning and the James Maxwell Professor of Lifelong Christian Formation, the James Maxwell Professor Chair of Lifelong Christian Formation. In addition, the Board reappointed Kimball to another seven-year term.

Kimball joined the VTS faculty in 2009 as Director of the Center for Ministry of Teaching and Professor of Christian Formation and Congregational Leadership. In 2016, the Seminary promoted her to Associate Dean of Lifelong Learning where she leads the way developing opportunities for theological education in the service of faithful leadership. In 2017, with a generous grant from Lilly Endowment Inc., Kimball developed and directs Baptized for Life, an Episcopal discipleship initiative. In recent years, she has worked on the Confirmation Project (a “Christian Youth: Learning and Living the Faith” grant from Lilly Endowment Inc.) as well as Way of Love: Practices for a Jesus-Centered Life, an initiative unveiled during the 2018 General Convention by Presiding Bishop Michael Curry.

“The Board of Trustees is delighted with the quality of Dr. Lisa Kimball’s work,” said the Very Rev. Ian S. Markham, Ph.D. “It is innovative, engaging, and deeply applied. In addition, her invaluable witness to the vocation of the lay, by simple virtue of baptism, is a priceless gift to VTS.”

Kimball received her Ph.D. in Work, Community, and Family Education from the University of Minnesota in 2007. Her dissertation, “Being Godparent: A Dialogical Hermeneutic Study of Godparenthood” wove together her interests in human development, experiential learning, faith formation, church history, and popular culture. She earned an M.Ed. in Youth Development Leadership from the University of Minnesota in 2001, and an A.B. in Human Biology with a concentration in Cross-Cultural Communications from Stanford University in 1980.  

Prior to her appointment at Virginia Seminary, she was a member of the faculty in the College of Education at the University of Minnesota with dual appointments in the School of Social Work (Youth Studies) and the Department of Curriculum and Instruction where she coordinated the Master’s Program in Youth Development Leadership. Kimball also held a position as Research Scientist at Search Institute in Minneapolis, MN where she focused on adolescent spiritual development and program evaluation.

Established in 1928 by Mary E. Maxwell, the daughter of James Maxwell, the James Maxwell Chair is the second oldest endowed chair at VTS. The two most recent recipients of this chair include pioneers in Christian formation and pastoral theology: the Rev. Locke Bowman, Ph.D. and Amelia “Amy” Dyer, Ph.D.

Founded in 1823 as a beacon of hope in a country new and finding its way, Virginia Theological Seminary has led the way in forming leaders of the Episcopal Church, including: the Most Rev. John E. Hines (VTS 1933, D.D. 1946), former presiding bishop of the Episcopal Church; the Rt. Rev. John T. Walker (VTS 1954, D.D. 1978), the first African-American bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Washington; and theologian, author and lay preacher Ms. Verna J. Dozier (VTS D.D. 1978). Serving the worldwide Anglican Communion, Virginia Theological Seminary educates approximately 25% of those being ordained who received residential theological education. Visit Virginia Seminary online at www.vts.edu.
3737 Seminary Road, Alexandria, Virginia 22304  |  Phone: 703-370-6600 or 800-941-0083 | Employee Directory