This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Bishops and Theologians Gather Seeking Resources for Good Disagreement


Media Contact: Curtis Prather
Tel: (703) 461-1782
Email: cprather@vts.edu

Alexandria, VA - Virginia Theological Seminary’s Center for Anglican Communion Studies concludes a consultation today on theological resources to address disagreements within the Anglican Communion.

Thirty bishops, church leaders, and scholars gathered to address the question of what course to take when provinces of the Communion disagree on doctrine.
The Rev Ian S. Markham, Ph.D., dean and president of VTS, welcomed the group saying “serious theological work on the nature of the Church and the Communion is urgent in these days. I am delighted that our Center for Anglican Communion Studies is hosting such a distinguished group of scholars capable of imagining a fruitful future for our tradition.”
The Rt. Rev. Pierre Whalon ‘85, Resigned Bishop-in-Charge for the Convocation of Episcopal Churches in Europe, and chair of the House of Bishops Ecclesiology Committee, commented “The question grew out of essays by the Committee: since Anglicans rule our churches by synod, how can conflicting doctrinal and moral decisions be addressed theologically? We were blessed to have a rich conversation around several brilliant scholars’ presentations. I am heartened by the results, and grateful to all those who made this seminal event possible.”
Presenters included bishops and leaders from the Anglican Church of Kenya, the Anglican Church of Canada, the Church of England, Lambeth Palace, the US Episcopal Church, and leading scholars from VTS, Trinity School for Ministry, and the Living Church Institute.
Papers from the meeting will be published by Wipf and Stock prior to the July 2020 meeting of Anglican Communion Bishops and their spouses at the Lambeth Conference.
“When Churches in Communion Disagree: A Consultation” was co-sponsored by The Episcopal Diocese of Dallas, The Episcopal Diocese of Texas, The Episcopal Church House of Bishops Ecclesiology Committee, The Living Church Institute and the Virginia Theological Seminary Center for Anglican Communion Studies.


Founded in 1823 as a beacon of hope in a country new and finding its way, Virginia Theological Seminary has led the way in forming leaders of the Episcopal Church, including: the Most Rev. John E. Hines (VTS 1933, D.D. 1946), former presiding bishop of the Episcopal Church; the Rt. Rev. John T. Walker (VTS 1954, D.D. 1978), the first African-American bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Washington; and theologian, author and lay preacher Ms. Verna J. Dozier (VTS D.D. 1978). Serving the worldwide Anglican Communion, Virginia Theological Seminary educates approximately 25% of those ordained who received residential theological education. Visit Virginia Seminary online at www.vts.edu.
3737 Seminary Road, Alexandria, Virginia 22304  |  Phone: 703-370-6600 or 800-941-0083 | Employee Directory