This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Members of Virginia Seminary's New Chapel Building Committee Announced


Media Contact: Susan Shillinglaw
Tel: 703-461-1764
Email: sshillinglaw@vts.edu

Alexandria, VA – The Board of Trustees at Virginia Theological Seminary has authorized the creation of a New Chapel for a New Century Building Committee that will be charged with oversight of the construction of the Seminary’s new chapel complex. The former 129-year old chapel was destroyed by fire in October of this year.

The New Chapel for a New Century Building Committee will be responsible for deciding upon a location for the new chapel complex; making recommendations about location and design to the Board of Trustees and its Building and Grounds Committee; interviewing and selecting an architect; consulting with the architects and our consultant, Terry Byrd Eason, as a design for the new chapel takes shape; and following the project until its conclusion.

“The task of building holy space for worship is a deep responsibility and privilege,” said the Seminary’s Dean and President, the Very Rev. Ian S. Markham, Ph.D. “This group, that includes all the key constituencies of our Seminary and Immanuel Church families, has been entrusted with the responsibility of listening to those they represent, to discern with prayer, and to imagine boldly. Please pray for the Seminary as we embark on this important journey.”

Committee members include a variety of Seminary board, faculty, and staff members as well as graduates, students and friends. The committee members are:

The Very Rev. Ian S. Markham, VTS Dean and President


Mrs. Martha W. High
The Rt. Rev. James J. Shand (‘99), Chair of the Board of Trustees, and Bishop, Diocese of Easton
The Rev. Dr. William R. Shiflet (‘72)


The Rev. Dr. J. Barney Hawkins IV
The Rev. Dr. Lloyd A. Lewis, Jr. (‘72)
The Rev. William Roberts, D.M.A.
Ms. Heather Zdancewicz


Ms. Kathryn Glover
Mr. David Mutscheller
Ms. Ray Sabalis


Ms. Dorothella Littlepage, M.Div. Senior
  Diocese of Altanta
Mr. Grey Maggiano, M.Div. Junior
  Diocese of Virginia
Mr. Edgar (Gary) Taylor, M.Div. Senior
  Diocese of Connecticut


The Rev. C. Neal Goldsborough (‘81), Pensacola, Florida
The Rev. Ruth L. Kirk (‘89), Greenville, Delaware
Mr. Thomas M. Moore (‘71), Warrenton, Virginia
The Rev. Dr. Joseph Walter Lund (‘91), Rancho Mirage, California
The Rev. David A. Umphlett (‘04), High Point, North Carolina


The Rev. Dr. Margaret A. Faeth (‘96)
Bryan R. Phillips, AIA, Holland & Knight, Senior Counsel


Mr. Robert L. Mays
  Atlanta, Georgia


Terry Eason, Terry Byrd Eason Designs
  Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Founded in 1823, Virginia Theological Seminary is the largest of the 11 accredited seminaries of the Episcopal Church. The school prepares men and women for service in the Church worldwide, both as ordained and lay ministers, and offers a number of professional degree programs and diplomas. Currently, the Seminary represents more than 42 different dioceses and 5 different countries, for service in the Church.
3737 Seminary Road, Alexandria, Virginia 22304  |  Phone: 703-370-6600 or 800-941-0083 | Employee Directory