Center for the Ministry of Teaching

Episcopal Children's Curriculum

Episcopal Children's Curriculum (ECC) is a thematic Sunday school curriculum developed by the Center for the Ministry of Teaching under the direction of Dr. Amy Gearey Dyer. Although it is no longer in print, all curriculum materials are available for free download here on our website. Use the navigation below and at right to find the documents you need.

Age Groups: ECC is available for three age groups, Preschool/Kindergarten, Primary (grades 1–3), and Intermediate (grades 4–6). For each age group, there are three years of material.

Scope and Sequence: ECC divides each calendar year into four units.
Unit Time of Year Topic
I Fall Old Testament
II Advent-Epiphany New Testament
III Lent&Easter Baptism/Eucharist/Church Traditions
IV Spring&Pentecost Additonal Themes

ECC has three full years of material. Each year has four units (listed above). A child or class may start in any one of the three years. This format allows churches with multi-age classes to alternate study material over a 3-year cycle. The Shell, Chalice and Cross years may be used in any order. 
Shell Year: Four units, special focus on Baptism 
Chalice Year: Four units, special focus on Eucharist
Cross Year: Four units, special focus on Worship

CMT FacebookCMT TwitterCMT Pinterest

Theory and Overview

Important Information

Supplementary Materials: For each curriculum year, there is a Teacher's Guide plus age-appropriate extras, such as symbol cards, learner's books, reproducible puzzles, and student newspapers. For each age group, there is a Supplemental Guide with appropriate teaching strategies and intergenerational lesson plans.

Music: Please note that we do not control the rights to the music that was once offered with ECC. The tapes are no longer produced in any format. 
3737 Seminary Road, Alexandria, Virginia 22304  |  Phone: 703-370-6600 or 800-941-0083 | Employee Directory