VTS Announced 2014 Lettie Pate Whitehead Evans Award


Media Contact: Curtis Prather
Tel: 703-461-1782
Email: cprather@vts.edu

Alexandria, VA – Ms. Mabeth Hudson, long-time parishioner at the Church of the Good Shepherd in Towson, Md. has received Virginia Theological Seminary’s 2014 Lettie Pate Whitehead Evans Award. The award, given each year by the Seminary honors an Episcopal layperson who has given "leadership and unique witness to the Gospel of Jesus Christ within his or her congregation, community, diocese and in the world. Additionally, the awardee must have exhibited, in a volunteer capacity, outstanding personal initiative and leadership in creating a new ministry outside the church.”

“The Lettie Pate Award raises up our most fundamental obligations by virtue of baptism,” said the Very Rev. Ian S. Markham, Ph.D., dean and president of Virginia Theological Seminary. “I am delighted that Ms. Hudson is such a worthy recipient of this award.”

The LPWE Committee selected Hudson, who originally participated in a two-year discernment group out of which emerged a call to form an ecumenical organization that provided programs and opportunities for personal spiritual growth and nourishment. Beginning with a weekly women’s group called “Women at the Well,” this organization bloomed into “Well for the Journey,” a non-profit that offers a variety of programs, publications, events and even pilgrimages to promote spiritual growth.

“Mabeth has been a personal support to me in my Episcopal ministry,” said the Rt. Rev. Eugene Taylor Sutton, the bishop of Maryland. “It is significant that that vibrant ecumenical spiritual growth ministry emerged from the vision of an Episcopal lay member of one of our own congregations.”

In addition to her work at The Well, she is very involved in her own church community, including serving as co-chair for a search committee for their new rector, and beyond, where she has taken a program from The Well into a women’s prison.

Established in 1999, the Lettie Pate Whitehead Evans Award honors the legacy of Lettie Pate Whitehead Evans, an Episcopal laywoman, philanthropist and friend of Virginia Seminary. In selecting a recipient for this award, the LPWE Committee considers those who "affirm in their lives that Christian ministry is not limited to the ordained and that the people of God all have crucial roles in witnessing to God's kingdom."


 Founded in 1823 as a beacon of hope in a country new and finding its way, Virginia Theological Seminary is the flagship Seminary of the Episcopal Church. One of our first benefactors was Francis Scott Key whose poem provides the text for our national anthem. In the 191 years since being established, VTS has led the way in forming leaders of the Episcopal Church, including: the Most Rev. John E. Hines (VTS 1933, D.D. 1946), former presiding bishop of the Episcopal Church; the Rt. Rev. John T. Walker (VTS 1954, D.D. 1978), the first African-American bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Washington;  and theologian, author and lay preacher Ms. Verna J. Dozier (VTS D.D. 1978). Serving the worldwide Anglican Communion, Virginia Theological Seminary educates approximately 25% of those being ordained who received residential theological education. Visit us online at www.vts.edu.